Customer Service Practitioner Apprenticeship Level 2

The Customer Service Practitioner apprenticeship has been developed to support learners in a Customer Service Role and provides a highly transferable set of knowledge, skills and behaviours and takes a minimum of 12 months to complete.


To achieve the Customer Service Practitioner apprenticeship standard each learner must:


  • Develop a portfolio of evidence and/or work towards a BTEC Level 2 Diploma for Customer Service Practitioners.

  • Have regular 1-to-1s with their line manager.

  • Work with their training provider who will provide training and resources to support learning in meeting Knowledge, Skills and Behaviours set out by the Customer Service Practitioner Standard.

  • Achieve Functional Skills maths and English at Level 2, prior to EPA Pass End Point Assessment (EPA)



BTEC Level 2 Diploma for Customer Service Practitioners


The qualification is a combined knowledge and competence qualification. It is assessed through the completion of a portfolio of evidence.


The course consists of 8 mandatory units:


  • Understanding Your Employer Organisation

  • Understanding How to Deliver High-Quality Customer Service

  • Understanding Personal Effectiveness in a Customer Service Work Environment

  • Understanding Communication in a Customer Service Environment

  • Communicating with Customers Effectively

  • Delivering High-Quality Customer Service

  • Handling Customer Conflict and Challenge

  • Managing Personal Effectiveness in a Customer Service Job Role


End Point Assessment (EPA)


End Point Assessment is carried out by an external organisation (EPAO) and is made up of the following:


  1. Apprentice Showcase – This enables the apprentice to reflect and present examples of their development over the whole on-programme period. With guidance from their assessor / employer the apprentice will select evidence from their programme portfolio to demonstrate the minimum requirements of the standards.

  2. Practical Observation – The apprentice will be observed by Independent Assessor from the EPAO, the observation will enable the apprentice to evidence their skills, knowledge and behaviours from across the standards. Any areas not evidenced will then be covered as part of the professional discussion.

  3. Professional Discussion – A structured discussion between the apprentice and Independent Assessor, following the observation, to establish the apprentice’s understanding and application of knowledge, skills and behaviours. The discussion will be a maximum of 1 hour.


To pass the End Point Assessment, the learner must achieve 100% of the pass criteria set out in the Institute for Apprenticeships End Point Assessment Plan.

To achieve a distinction the learner must achieve a set percentage of the distinction criteria set out for each EPA assessment:


Apprentice Showcase: 70% of distinction criteria

Practical Observation: 80% of distinction criteria

Professional Discussion: 75% of distinction criteria

AGL Training Ltd, Suite D,

19 Limes Road, Oakengates,



Tel: 01952 743495